he remembered

Ron and I are still sad about the loss of the chicks yesterday. I have images of the 14 chicks in my head that I just can’t shake.

Poor things.

But I need to write about something happy.

So that would be Half Moon, or Mr. Moon, or Moonie.

He definitely remembered me when I got home Saturday evening. I went out and visited the sheep, maybe even before taking a shower after the long voyage home (!).

How could I not? Especially when Half Moon walked calmly up to me, stuck up his face at me, and eagerly awaited pets.

All the sheep were friendly–at least the ones that normally are (Spot, Tagine, Cinnamon, Half Moon, and Tatanka unusually so). Tagine was particularly heady butty. It was irritating (and a bit painful–nothing like ram horn butting against the shins). In retrospect, though, I think he was being extra friendly.

And Mr. Moon? He was even more friendly than when I left three weeks before. Amazing, really. He was happy getting petted on his face, neck, back. I patted him on the rump a few times as he was walking away. Even though he couldn’t see me, he didn’t jump or get startled or run away (and if one sheep startles, they all do).

He also has a new trick. He likes nose bunks with humans, but he also likes to lick my chin.

On Sunday evening, I visited the sheep again (of course!). Tagine and Half Moon were lying under the pines. The rest of the sheep were eating, wandering around, doing their usual sheep thing. I petted both of them. For some time. Then I got a little tired of leaning over and petting them, so I sat down next to them on the ground.

No doubt I was sitting in sheep poop. [Shrugs. That’s what farm clothes are for.]

I sat with Tagine and Half Moon for 15 minutes. Really. Tagine had his head down on the ground most of the time, but he was happy to get pats and scratches on the back. Again, no being startled or surprised even though he was facing away from me. That’s sheep trust for you.

And Half Moon was equally sweet. He was glad to get pets on the muzzle, ears, neck. I gave him a lot of pets on his entire back and side. His fleece is so soft and he still has those wonderful waves in his fleece. I think this was the first time I really petted his back and sides like that. I’ve snuck some full-body pets now and again, but this time he really liked it. He was pretty sleepy. His eyes kept half closing and he put his head down several times.

It was so relaxing sitting under the pine trees in the shade with Half Moon and Tagine, petting them.

Eventually the calm stopped a bit.

Tagine realized they were by themselves. He popped up and started going one direction. Half Moon quickly followed Uncle Tagine. It was funny because Tagine baa’ed three times, trying to figure out where the rest of the flock was. I was pretty sure they were all in the sheep tipi that Ron made out of forest sticks and an old tarp. I started heading down there. Tagine was waiting to hear a response to his last baa. I glanced up at them from about 50 feet away and by that point Tagine had decided he was definitely following me. He ran full tilt straight towards me, Half Moon just a few feet behind him. If I didn’t trust Tagine, it would be a bit intimidating having an almost full-grown (castrated) male sheep running fast–and I mean, fast–straight at you. They both flew by, ran into the woods, and were at the sheep tipi (with, as I had suspected, the rest of the sheep) by the time I got there.

Half Moon definitely remembers me, despite the fact that he was just 12 days old when I left. And he’s even friendlier and sweeter than before.

Photos soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to he remembered

  1. Lisa Kozleski says:

    So glad your little Mr. Moon remembered you! I love these stories, Sara – even the hard ones, but truly all of them.

    [Lethbridge College]Lisa Kozleski
    Senior writer and editor
    Lethbridge College
    Lisa.kozleski@lethbridgecollege.ca
    403-320-3202 X5778

Leave a Reply

