friday the 13th

Well, it seems to be Friday the 13th in animal-land today.

To start with the positive, I visited White Tail twice since dawn this morning. I took her out of the cat kennel (!?) mid-morning. She seemed quite content to sit on my lap for a bit. I petted her for a while, she peeped at me, and then I started poking, prodding, and peering a bit, trying to get a sense of if/how she was injured.

The bald patch near her tail appears to be just skin, no problem. But the other bald patch near her shoulder/top of wing definitely had a small wound. She was amazingly patient with me as I gently moved feathers aside, trying to see better. Pretty quickly I could tell it was a talon scratch (!)–linear, about a half-inch long, deep enough to pierce the skin and go into the flesh, but not terribly deep.

However, I found a second wound farther up towards her high shoulder/low neck. We missed it this morning at dawn, as it was hidden by more feathers. I also gently moved those around and saw a bigger, deeper, and unfortunately redder wound–this time in the shape of a triangle. Yup, a beak nip (!). It was deeper, although not awful.

A little while ago I went back outside armed with warm soapy water, several rags, and an expired tube of neosporin. White Tail was cooperative again, although not quite as patient as earlier this morning. I was able to wipe down the two wounds and put some neosporin on both spots. Once I started putting the cream on, she was remarkably patient given that I was almost touching the wounds and they must be sore. Hopefully she won’t be able to eat much of the stuff, but I’m hoping that the neosporin might prevent infection from setting it.

In other good news, she laid an egg, which must mean her body isn’t so stressed that it can’t produce an egg. She’s also using both wings again, unlike last night (both wounds are on the left side of her body so I suspect she was avoiding use of her left wing last night).

Meanwhile, as I was walking back from the coop helping White Tail and feeling good about her prospects, I saw all the sheep hanging out by the garage. But one of Brownie’s eyes was all cloudy and there seemed to be some goop or a scratch near her eye.

ARGH!

When it rains, it pours…

So, Ron’s on the phone trying to figure out a plan for Brownie, White Tail is back in her cat kennel, and (gulp) Hawkeye is in the soup pot for dinner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to friday the 13th

  1. Oh, my goodness! It really has been a Friday-the-13th kind of day (or two) for you. I’m so sorry to hear about little Hawkeye, and I hope White Tail heals quickly, and that Brownie is OK!

    Hope the farm drama subsides and that your semester quiets down as well.
    Wishing you the best and sending hugs.
    Cheri

  2. Lisa Kozleski says:

    Oh Sar, I am so sorry it was a horrible Friday the 13th (in every way, as the day and night progressed). I am sending you so much love, and hoping your friends and colleagues in France are all safe, even if they (like all of us) are heartbroken and horrified.

    Love you so much ma chere amie,

    Lisa

    [Lethbridge College]Lisa Kozleski
    Senior writer and editor
    Lethbridge College
    Lisa.kozleski@lethbridgecollege.ca
    403-320-3202 X5778

Leave a Reply

