hawkeye and the cherry

You may have been wondering about this one in yesterday’s list.

Our smaller cherry tree is starting to fruit.  Well, not only that.  Fruit–and ripen!  I actually snitched three tiny cherries over the weekend.  They weren’t quite ripe–but they weren’t that sour either.  I’m not sure if the humans will get any more cherries thanks to the birds.

Normally by “birds” I’d mean robins and other birds.

But apparently “birds” can also mean the chickens who live in the orchard.  In fact, I was in the garden puttering around doing something the other evening.  Out of the corner of my eye I saw Hawkeye jump/fly up–awkwardly, needless to say.  Next thing I know, I see her waddling happily over a few feet with–yes–a cherry in her beak!

Stinker!

The cherries aren’t (literally) low hanging fruit.  They are pretty high up on the tree.  But somehow she saw them and was motivated enough to jump/fly to the lowest one.

Like I said, stinker!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hawkeye and the cherry

  1. Lisa Kozleski says:

    Total stinker.

    And adorable.

    [Lethbridge College]Lisa Kozleski
    Senior writer and editor
    Lethbridge College
    Lisa.kozleski@lethbridgecollege.ca
    403-320-3202 X5778

Leave a Reply

